Table of Contents
Simple Booth sells you a booth. Snapbar delivers you a campaign. That's the Simple Booth vs Snapbar decision; the rest is cost and fit. Simple Booth's HALO is an iPad kit you buy (from $2,090 plus an iPad) and run on a plan of $49 to $249 a month, built for venues, installs and teams that use it week after week. Snapbar delivers a web-based experience per campaign, from $1,995, that runs on a kiosk, an iPad, a laptop, guests' own phones or all of the above at once, with displays and a data capture step included and our team configuring it with you.
You're choosing an operating model, not an app. Our guide to comparing photo booth software for corporate events maps eight vendors; this page goes one deep, with prices and a verdict. Simple Booth doesn't publish a comparison with us, so nothing here corrects them.
Key takeaways
- Simple Booth: an iPad booth you own. HALO from $2,090 plus an iPad, plans $49 to $249 a month, data capture from the $149 Pro plan.
- Snapbar: a web-based activation per campaign, priced per experience, not per device. Digital Photo Booth from $1,995, AI Photo Booth from $2,495. Runs on a kiosk, an iPad or guests' phones; no app to install.
- One 500-guest event costs about the same either way; by the fourth on the same rig, Simple Booth is far cheaper.
- Installs and recurring self-run use: Simple Booth. A delivered, branded, measured activation on the hardware you have, or none: Snapbar.
Who is Simple Booth built for, and who is Snapbar built for?
Simple Booth is built for people who will own a booth and run it often. Their homepage: "Perfect for photo booth rental companies, DJs, photographers, venues, marketing teams, bars, brand activations, restaurants, & more." The promise is "The premium photo booth that runs itself," and HALO ships as an Event Kit on a stand or an Install Kit for wall mounting. A booth bolted to a museum lobby wall is exactly what Simple Booth is designed around, and for that case their model is the better fit today.
Snapbar is built for the corporate event marketer or agency running a brand activation, trade show, conference or internal event who wants it delivered, on-brand and measured, with no device license to buy or app to update. The same browser-based experience runs on a kiosk, an iPad on a stand, a laptop or every guest's phone by QR code, and our team configures it with you beforehand. If you're searching for a Simple Booth alternative because you want the booth without being tied to one rig, that's this page.

Simple Booth vs Snapbar side by side
Simple Booth cells come from their own pages, checked September 2026; where they don't state something, the cell says so.
| Criterion | Simple Booth | Snapbar |
|---|---|---|
| Platform | HALO app on an iPad in a stand you buy. Virtual Booth runs in a browser. | Browser-based on any device you choose: a kiosk, an iPad, a laptop or guests' phones. No app; bring the hardware you have, or use none. |
| Who runs it | You buy, set up and run it; "no attendant required." | Configured with our team; guests self-serve on any device. You control branding and design; we guide AI prompts and data flow. |
| Live displays | Live Feed slideshow on a screen you supply, optional sponsor ads. From Plus. | Live gallery, slideshow and leaderboard with every activation, as many as you want. Live Mosaic is the one add-on. Sponsor QR codes in gallery and slideshow. |
| Lead capture and where data goes | Pro and Select only. CSV from the Analytics dashboard, automatic push to Mailchimp, an API to your CRM (developer required). | Data capture step in every experience, consent-gated by default. Real-time delivery into HubSpot, Slack, customer-supplied signed webhooks and Zapier, plus a partner API, pilot-gated per account and configured with our team, not self-serve. Bulk exports. |
| AI | AI effects and backgrounds on every plan; AI Effect Studio from Plus. Photo only. Credits at $0.10 each. | AI Photo Booth with a custom AI style, plus AI Stories, AI Video, Trading Cards and Persona Quiz as separate experiences. |
| Branding | "Custom branding" from Plus. Removal of Simple Booth branding: not stated publicly. | Custom branding included. Subtle Snapbar branding appears by default on guest-facing surfaces (microsite footer, displays, delivery emails, sharing page); the Whitelabeling add-on ($1,495) removes it. |
| Delivery | Text, email, AirDrop, WhatsApp, QR code, social, AirPrint prints. Custom SMS from Pro. | Branded email included; text is a priced add-on. No prints. |
| Languages | Not stated publicly. | Built-in translations for every experience, as an add-on. |
| Analytics | Views, shares, demographics, top photos. From Plus. | Real-time analytics and moderation included. |
| Pricing model | Plan per device ($49 to $249 a month), plus hardware, plus AI credits. | Per experience, not per device; run it on one device or a hundred at once. From $1,995, 30 days of live runtime, usage included. A second kiosk or a fourth iPad adds no license. |
| Contracts | Monthly or yearly; weekly on Core and Plus. 7-day trial. Cancellation terms: not stated publicly. | Per activation; a 1-year runtime add-on. |
Sponsor surfaces are parity. The display row hides the bigger gap, which is how many screens you can run: twelve across the booth, lounge and main stage cost the same as one with us, while each Live Feed needs a screen you bring. Display types: live event displays compared.
What does each one cost for a 500-guest activation?
About the same, the first time. After that they diverge fast.
Simple Booth pricing, with data capture on. Lead capture lives on Pro at $149 a month, and there's no weekly Pro plan. Add the HALO Kit, listed from $2,090.00, and an 11-inch iPad Air at $599.00 ("HALO requires an iPad to run software"). AI effects use credits at $0.10 each; 500 guests at one credit apiece, less the 150 sign-up credits Pro includes, is about $35. Call it $2,870 for the first event, then $149 a month or $1,490 a year to keep the license live. Two things push it higher. Custom legal terms and opt-in wording sit on Select at $249 a month. And one license covers one iPad, so a second station means a second kit, iPad and license.
Snapbar, same event. AI Photo Booth is $2,495 per experience and comes to approximately $3,200 for 500 guests. Digital Photo Booth is $1,995 and covers 500 guests at that price. Both include the displays, the data capture step, branded email delivery, analytics and 30 days of live runtime, on as many kiosks, iPads or phones as you run. Full figures are on Snapbar platform pricing.
500 guests, one event, September 2026 prices
Simple Booth with data capture: about $2,870 for the first event, then $149 a month or $1,490 a year. Snapbar: $1,995 for Digital Photo Booth, or approximately $3,200 for AI Photo Booth, displays, data capture and delivery included.
The honest read: Simple Booth's number buys hardware you keep, and by the fourth or fifth event on the same rig it's far cheaper per use. That's the buyer it's built for. Ours buys one campaign, run on whatever devices you already have, with no license to keep alive afterwards.
See it in action
AI Photo Booth, delivered per campaign
A custom AI style for your brand, on a kiosk, an iPad or every guest's phone, displays and data capture step included. From $2,495 per experience, configured with our team.
Explore AI Photo BoothOne iPad per license, or any device in the room?
On Simple Booth HALO, guests use the iPad in the stand, one per license. On Snapbar, they use whatever you put in front of them: a kiosk, an iPad on a stand, a laptop at a desk, or their own phone by QR code. The experience, branding, displays and data path are the same on every device. Run all of them at once if you like: a kiosk at the booth, an iPad on a stand at the bar, the QR code on every table card and on the big screen, all feeding one gallery, one leaderboard and one lead list, at no extra charge per device.

That sounds small until you've watched a queue form. A HALO is one capture point per license. At a 500-person reception it's busy for two hours and idle the rest of the night, and the people who left the line are the ones you wanted content from. Simple Booth's Virtual Booth is the fair counterpoint: browser-based, no app, and their marketing pairs it with the stand for hybrid reach.
Because we price per experience rather than per device, throughput is a deployment choice, not a purchase. Run a kiosk where a fixed capture point earns its place, add a second one or a few iPads without adding a license, or open the experience to every phone in the room, from 50 to 50,000+ guests; see Digital Photo Booth.
Who runs it on the day?
With Simple Booth, you do. You buy the kit and the iPad, carry it in, set it up ("60 seconds or less" is their claim), supply the network, screen and printer, and someone on your team owns the rig after the show. There's no managed or staffed service on the pages we checked. "Runs without staff" is the product.
With Snapbar, the activation is configured with our team before the event and guests self-serve during it on the devices you've chosen. The platform gives you immediate control over branding and design, while our team keeps providing expertise and guidance on the harder parts, the AI prompts and the data flow. We've found that's where corporate teams want the line: nobody wants to learn prompt engineering the week of a launch. See how it works.

Where does the lead data end up?
On Simple Booth, in your Analytics dashboard: "Data capture is only available on the Pro and Select plans and must be enabled before use." From there it downloads as a CSV, pushes to Mailchimp, or reaches your CRM through their API, which needs a developer. Their ownership line: "Photos and guest data captured through your account remain yours."
On Snapbar, the data capture step sits inside every experience and is consent-gated by default, so a guest who declines has their details dropped before delivery while their content still arrives. Lead data is delivered in real time into HubSpot, Slack, customer-supplied signed webhooks and Zapier, plus a partner API; that delivery is pilot-gated per account and configured with our team, not self-serve.
The practical difference is the interval. A CSV pulled Monday after a Thursday show is a 96-hour response time. For the ownership, consent and retention questions, see where your event lead data actually goes; the product side is on Lead Capture.
Should you choose Simple Booth or Snapbar?
Choose Simple Booth if you're a venue, bar, campus, museum or retail floor that wants a booth running every week. If you're planning a permanent install. If you'll run ten or more small activations a year on the same rig and have a person to own it. If you'd rather buy hardware than pay per campaign. Or if guests need a printed strip in hand; HALO's AirPrint prints are the better fit for that.
Choose Snapbar if you're running a brand activation, trade show, conference or internal event and want it delivered and branded on the hardware you already have, or none. If the crowd is big enough that one iPad would queue and you'd rather add a kiosk, open it to phones, or all of the above at once than buy a second license. If you want AI beyond effects: a custom AI style, AI video, trading cards, a persona quiz. Or if lead data needs to reach the CRM during the event, with our team configuring the delivery.
The Simple Booth vs Snapbar call gets harder for the corporate team doing three or four activations a year. Price both against real guest counts. Four 150-guest internal events on a HALO you already own: Simple Booth is the better fit; if you'd rather not own a rig, Snapbar photo-based experiences start at $1,995 with full platform access, custom lead capture and unlimited displays included. Four 500-guest conference activations, each branded differently, with a CRM waiting on the leads: ours. Neither? See alternatives to a traditional photo booth.
More in this series: Snapbar vs Snappic, Snapbar vs Movebooth, Snapbar vs Dreamwave, and the best AI photo booth software.
Sources and verification
Simple Booth facts and prices come from their own Plans and Pricing page, online store, HALO, Photo Booth Software, AI Photo Booth and Virtual Booth pages, and the HALO App Data Capture help article, checked September 2026. Snapbar figures come from Snapbar platform pricing, checked September 2026; totals are approximate, computed from published experience prices and included usage. Prices change; confirm before you buy.












